Eco Innovator November 2011

Government Policy

New Innovation Board Members

Innovation Australia, the independent body that advices the Government with its innovation programs, has appointed three new board members - Dr Nicholas Gruen, Richard Shaddick and Innes Willox.

Innovation minister Senator Kim Carr said the new appointees will help to increase innovation activity in industry and improve its commercial success.

Dr Gruen, is an economist, entrepreneur and commentator and is involved in public policy issues in industry and innovation. He has established several businesses and has experience with start-ups. Dr Gruen is chief executive of Lateral Economics, a public policy consultancy, and chairman of the Australian Centre for Social Innovation.

In April this year he authored The BERD in the Hand: Supporting Business Development in Research and Development. He was also on the expert panel behind the 2008 report - Venturous Australia, Building Strength in Innovation - commissioned by the Review of the National Innovation System.

Mr Shaddick is a chartered accountant and has specialised in international taxation, dealing with outbound and inbound investment. He will chair the R&D Incentives Committee which has been renamed from the Tax Concession Committee to reflect its role in administering the new R&D Tax Incentive.

Mr Willox is director (International and Government Relations) of the Australian Industry Group, with responsibility for government relations, trade and defence policy. He is a member of the Defence Industry Innovation Board and the Defence Industry Skilling Taskforce. He was previously consul-general of Australia in Los Angeles.






Search Eco Investor